Development of A New Electrochemical Sensor based on Zr-MOF/MIP for Sensitive Diclofenac Determination


1 Department of Chemistry, Payame Noor University, P.O. Box 19395-4697 Tehran, Iran

2 Pharmaceutics Research Center, Institute of Neuropharmacology, Kerman University of Medical Sciences, Kerman, Iran


In this study, a new molecularly imprinted polymer with nanoporous material of zirconium metal-organic frameworks (Zr-MOF/MIP) for diclofenac (DFC) measurement is presented. The Zr-MOF/MIP was prepared by electropolymerization method, the Zr-MOFs were used to increase electrode surface and the DFC and para- aminobenzoic acid (pABA) were used as template and functional monomer, respectively. Zr--MOFs was characterized by using X-ray powder diffraction (XRD), scanning electron microscope (SEM) and Fourier transform infrared spectroscopy (FTIR). The electrochemical performance was investigated using cyclic voltammetry (CV) and differential pulse voltammetry (DPV). Sensor response was evaluated by comparing the electrochemical response of Zr-MOF/MIP, with that of non- Imprinted polymer (NIP), in a 2.0 mM potassium ferrocyanide solution containing 0.2 mM sodium sulfate as probe solution. Measurements were carried out in the potential range of -0.6 to +1.0 V with scan rate of 50 mV/s. The calibration curve of diclofenac was linear in the concentration range of 6.5 μM to 1.5×10+3 μM. Detection limit was obtained 0.1 μM and relative standard deviation of several (n=7) replicate measurements for 1.0 mM DFC concentration has obtained 1.8%. Furthermore, favorable sensitivity, selectivity, good reproducibility and long-term stability, was obtained in the experiment and the proposed electrode was applied for the determination of DFC in pharmaceutical commercial sample with satisfactory results.


[1] R. N. Goyal, S. Chatterjee, and A. R. S. Rana, Carbon 48 (2010) 4136.
[2] R. N. Goyal, S. Chatterjee, and B. Agrawal, Sens. Actuators B Chem. 145 (2010) 743.
[3] J. B. Quintana, J. Carpinteiro, and I. Rodríguez, Compr. Anal. Chem. 50 (2007) 185.
[4] W. Schneider, and P. Degen, J. Chromatogr. A. 217 (1981) 263.
[5] Á. Sebők, A. Vasanits-Zsigrai, G. Palkó, G. Záray, and I. Molnár-Perl, Talanta 76 (2008) 642.
[6] A. ÁARMT, and V. J. V. J. M. Cortés, Chromatography online 37 (2019) 194.
[7] M. M. Mabrouk, S. F. Hammad, F. R. Mansour, and B. Z. El-Khateeb, J. Anal. Chem. 74 (2019) 458.
[8] R. V. Mane, K. Patel, G. S. Sushmitha, and S. Vasantharaju, Res. J. Pharm. Technol. 12 (2019) 611.
[9] E. M. Thalij, S. A. Salman, and H. M. Hasan, Tikrit J. Pure Sci. 24 (2019) 52.
[10] P. R. Barros Gomes, V. E. Mouchrek Filho, S. de Oliveira, R. Wesly, A. Pereira Everton, J. Batista Reis, H. C. Louzeiro, W. da Silva Lyra, M. A. Fontenele, and D. T. Valeriano Alveset, Rev. Colomb. Cienc. Quim. Farm. 48 (2019) 29.
[11] O. Corcoran, J. K. Nicholson, E. M. Lenz, F. Abou‐Shakra, J. Castro‐Perez, A. B. Sage, and I. D. Wilsonet, Rapid Commun. Mass Spectrom. 14 (2000) 2377.
[12] N. K. Sahoo, M. Sahu, P. S. Rao, and G. Ghosh, J. Anal. Chem. 70 (2015) 424.
[13] L. Nováková, D. Solichová, and P. Solich, J. Sep. Sci. 29 (2006) 2433.
[14] U. Geiger, P. Degen, and A. Sioufi, J. Chromatogr. A 111 (1975) 293.
[15] L. González, G. Yuln, and M. Volonté, J. Pharm. Biomed. Anal. 20 (1999) 487.
[16] R. Hajkova, P. Solich, M. Pospıšilová, and J. Šıcha, Anal. Chim. Acta 467 (2002) 91.
[17] Y. M. El‐Sayed, M. E. Abdel-Hamed, M. S. Suleiman, and N. M. Najib, J. Pharm. Pharm. 40 (1988) 727.
[18] L. Zecca, P. Ferrario, and P. Costi, J. Chromatogr. B Biomed. Sci. Appl. 567 (1991) 425.
[19] V. Dighe, R. Sane, S. Menon, H. Tambe, S. Pillai, and V. Gokarn, JPC-J. Planar Chromat. 19 (2006) 443.
[20] E. Kaale, B. C. Nyamweru, V. Manyanga, M. Chambuso, and T. Layloff, Int. J. Chem. Anal. Sci. 4 (2013) 73.
[21] W. Thongchai, B. Liawruangrath, C. Thongpoon, and T. Machan, Chiang Mai J. Sci. 33 (2006) 123.
[22] C. Sarbu, M. Demertzis, and D. Kovala-Demertzi, Acta Chromatographica. 10 (2000) 222.
[23] M. S. Garcı́a, M. I. Albero, C. Sánchez-Pedreño, and J. Molina, J. Pharmaceut. Biomed. Anal. 17 (1998) 267.
[24] S. García, C. Sánchez-Pedreño, I. Albero, and C. García, Microchim. Acta 136 (2001) 67.
[25] J. Perlado, A. Zapardiel, E. Bermejo, J. Perez, and I. Hernandez, Anal. Chim. Acta 305 (1995) 83.
[26] A. Samadi-Maybodi, S. K. H. Nejad-Darzi, and H. Ilkhani Anal. Bioanal. Electrochem. 3 (2011) 134.
[27] F. Huang, G. Jin, Y. Liu, and J. Kong, Talanta 74 (2008) 1435.
[28] Y-H. Zhu, Z-L. Zhang, W. Zhao, and D-W. Pang, Sens. Actuators B Chem. 119 (2006) 308.
[29] K. Li, M. Zhu, H. Zhang, and J. Zhao, Int. J. Electrochem. Sci. 8 (2013) 4047.
[30] A. Poma, H. Brahmbhatt, J. K. Watts, and N. W. Turner, Macromolecules 47 (2014) 6322.
[31] J. Wackerlig, and R. Schirhagl R. Anal. Chem. 88 (2015) 250.
[32] F. Puoci, G. Cirillo, M. Curcio, O. I. Parisi, F. Iemma, and N. Picci, Expert Opin. Drug Deliv. 8 (2011) 1379.
[33] K. Eersels, B. V. Grinsven, M. Khorshid, V. Somers, C. Püttmann, C. Stein, S. Barth, H. Diliën, G. M. J. Bos, W. T. V. Germeraad, T. J. Cleij, R. Thoelen, W. De Ceuninck, and P. Wagner, Langmuir 31 (2015) 2043.
[34] S. Mohamed, S. Balieu, E. Petit, L. Galas, D. Schapman, J. Hardouin, R. Baati, and F. Estour, Chem. Commun. 55 (2019) 13243.
[35] M. Resmini, Anal. Bioanal. Chem. 402 (2012) 3021.
[36] G. Ertürk Bergdahl, T. Andersson, M. Allhorn, S. Yngman, R. Timm, and R. Lood, ACS Sens. 4 (2019) 717.
[37] M. L. Yola, and N. Atar, Biosens. Bioelectron. 126 (2019) 418.
[38] A. Herrera-Chacón, S. D. Zor, and M. D. Valle, Talanta 208 (2019) 120348.
[39] A. Sinha, S. M. Mugo, X. Lu, and J. Chen, Tools, Techniques and Protocols for Monitoring Environmental Contaminants: Elsevier (2019) pp. 371.
[40] K. Orihara, A. Hikichi, T. Arita, H. Muguruma, and Y. Yoshimi, J. Pharm. Biomed. Anal. 151 (2018) 324.
[41] L. Fernández‐Llano, M. C. Blanco‐López, M. J. Lobo‐Castañón, A. J. Miranda‐Ordieres, and P. Tuñón‐Blanco, Electroanalysis 19 (2007) 1555.
[42] B. Chethana, S. Basavanna, and Y. Arthoba Naik, Ind. Eng. Chem. Res. 51 (2012) 10287.
[43] M. Hajjizadeh, A. Jabbari, H. Heli, A. Moosavi-Movahedi, and S. Haghgoo, Electrochim. Acta 53 (2007) 1766.
[44] F. Nasiri, G. H. Rounaghi, N. Ashraf, and B. A. Deiminiat, Int. J. Environ. Anal. Chem. 1 (2019) 1.
[45] C. Karuppiah, S. Cheemalapati, S. M. Chen, and S. Palanisamy, Ionics 21 (2015) 231.
[46] M. M. Eteya, G. H. Rounaghi, and B. Deiminiat, Microchem. J. 144 (2019) 254.
Volume 12, Issue 3
March 2020
Pages 402-414
  • Receive Date: 02 March 2020
  • Revise Date: 17 March 2020
  • Accept Date: 17 March 2020
  • First Publish Date: 17 March 2020